The Seventh Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships 2023

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology held the Seventh Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships on December 5, 2023 to confer named professorships on eight outstanding faculty members and honor donors for their staunch support for the University.

Newly appointed professorship holders
Professor Guojun Bu
Chair Professor, Division of Life Science
Lo Ka Chung Charitable Foundation Professor of Science
Professor Kun Xu
Head and Chair Professor, Department of Mathematics
Chair Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Stephen Kam Chuen Cheong Professor of Science
Professor Can Yang
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
Dr Tai-chin Lo Associate Professor of Science
Professor Adrian Hoi Chun Po
Department of Physics
Hari Harilela Assistant Professor of Physics
Professor Ben Zhong Tang
Department of Chemistry
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Professor Minhua Shao
Head and Chair Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Director of HKUST Energy Institute
Cheong Ying Chan Professor of Energy Engineering and Environment
Professor Yuan Xie
Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering
Fang Professor of Engineering
Professor Ying-Ju Chen
Chair Professor, Department of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management
Chair Professor, Department of Industrial Engineering and Decision Analytics
Crown Worldwide Professor of Business
Professor Yan Ji
Associate Professor, Department of Finance
Liwei Huang Associate Professor of Business